Back To The Old Guy

by gimmegoodstyle

11213CostumeN8852Web1

I have to admit that it’s strange to see a fashionable old men. Well, I mean, they might be had a stylish years before we were invented, but eras have changed and clothes changed together with them. What was once stylish has become ugly and vintage (in a bad way) only a few people can remain timeless and, to tell you the truth, most of them are women.

But this man is different. He has what I called a ‘truck driver attitude’.

Let me explain, a ‘truck driver attitude’ is indeed an attitude that our beloved truck drivers have here in Jakarta. They’re not really nice and yo have to be really careful when you are driving close to their ‘giants’, most of them don’t really know about rules and basically use their instincts to drive on the roads. Well, they usually have a lot of hard times and it makes them grow this ‘I don’t give a shit, fella’ attitude. But they are still holding an important role in this city and country. I won’t be able to buy a new laptop or clothes, if they don’t deliver Apple or Giordano stuffs straight from Tanjung Priuk (google it) to Grogol (google it again).

Back to this man. Yeah, I dare to say that he has a ‘truck driver attitude’ because his eyes look so grumpy and nervous. I can tell that he really doesn’t want to get involved in this whole fashion industry yet he reflects a cool style in this shoot. A mix of dark colors really give him a maturity and far older feeling. A good inspiration for you who like to play with dark colors.

I have to give an appreciation to Scott Schuman because he is brave enough to shoot this man. Maybe because he is at the same age with the man. If I were him, I would turn away and look for a nicer, younger (hey, no judgement) street styler. Play it safe….

And if you do rock the same style, can you please give a smile when someone takes your photo? It will be much better.

Taken from The Sartorialist

