Cannes 2013

by gimmegoodstyle

jodie foster cannes style.com

People say that Cannes can be the most important social event for film industry. And I can’t say that I agree or disagree because for me movie is just… movie. You come to the Cinema, buy a ticket and enjoy the movie then you go home and do other activities until you forget about it. Yeah, I am such a cold person. I try to imagine movie as something that are really important and actually have more meanings than for entertainment, but I can’t. I just can’t.

All movies have a single most important purpose: to attract as many viewers (watchers. Whatever) as possible. When that single purpose is fulfilled, they come up with words like ‘to help poor people; to make us realize how important natural conservation/endangered animals/parental thing is; to teach people about how bad racism/slavery/bullying is; etc etc etc’. Yawn. I’ve heard about those talks and I really appreciate them. Needles to say, I am a movie goer, but I am not a movie appreciator. That’s just not my style.

Back to Cannes! Maybe I am not important enough (or quite understand the real meaning of the event) to be there, but I just love festivals and Cannes is a big bunch of festivals. There are fireworks everywhere you go, 60 meters long red carpets and tons of celebs until the whole island (or country?) shakes with pride and excitement. Not to mention their fabulous gowns and outfits (I understand this one). Those celebs’ auras are really amazing! Oh, and those beaches and sun… Cannes can be a heaven for anyone, not just a movie appreciators.

Anyway, will you go to Cannes this year? Are you in Cannes? Do you live in Cannes?

One more question. Consider this as the most important one:

Are you a movie appreciator?

Taken from Style

wim wenders and liv tyler cannes style.com tian zhu ding cannes style.com

