House of Holland Resort 2014

by gimmegoodstyle

HouseOfHolland_026_1366.450x675

Some designers are too overrated (please, having dinner with your business partners or friends  is not really a worthy news for designer) and the rest of them are somehow underrated, even though they have a lot of cool friends and, more importantly, cool designs. I don’t know about you, but Henry Holland aka House of Holland is pretty much underrated in Jakarta compared to (fine maybe he has quite unfair comparison) Marc Jacobs or Karl Lagerfeld or Christophe Decarnin. I even knew him for the first time from the internet, he just launched his new t-shirts collection that featured some designers’ names with funny quotes, if I am not mistaken. Anyway, Holland deserved more attention and I believe I am right because he just proved himself once again with is resort 2014 collection.

For the resort, Holland played with quite bold colored and retro prints/dresses/style. It’s fun to see something bright and colorful and quite young once in a while, right? I fancy that dresses and the suits with star-like pattern and even the domination of orange (and I have to tell you that I am not an orange-person, in fact I don’t really like orange), but I don’t really get the point of the explosion-like bags. Look pretty weak for me. Holland also gives me that ‘I don’t know’ mood when I see the bikini (?) and cropped tops, there is something quite annoying in his cuttings and materials.

Apart from those things, this is a really young and funny collection. And by funny I mean a collection that makes people smile and feel happy, not that kind of funny (okay, I am making you confused). I like the way he just drops everything that is too dense and let his collection flies over the sun (because it’s summer). Fashion is fun! It’s cool! It’s young! For me, those words are the whole points of Holland collections. The geometrical patterns are great, the colors brighten up the whole collection, the embellishments give the infamous high-fashion touch and free 60s spirits are everywhere!

Let’s give more attention to this man fellas!

Plus, his clothes are much cheaper than Chanel…and Chanel knows no discount….

Taken from Style

