Geek of the Day: NASA (Again!)

by gimmegoodstyle

lightning3

I blame my science class teachers for poisoning me with tons of useless facts about particles that create thunders yada yada yada. The facts that I forget after a minute outside the class (and always always make me panic to death when the exam week comes.) For me who lives right above the earth’s surface (zero meter from the ground aka pretty much the same with you guys) lightning storm is just a bunch of clouds with thundering sounds and don’t forget to avoid metals or stand under a tree (except you are Bugs Bunny!)

But I guess the view is a little bit different for those brave, smart people (I’ll say geek here, but I adore those people when I was a kid and didn’t know who Raf Simons is) who live, uh, a bit further above the sky. Fine, they live in space station orbiting near the earth or something like that (I told you I am not good in scientific fact.)

The brave astronauts of NASA has succeed capturing a few beautiful shots of lightning storms all over the globe, the photos are awesomely (or carefully because if they make clumsy mistakes, they are probably going to blow up instantly in the space, like Sandra Bullock’s new movie) taken and provide us with clear description on what’s really going on above the storm. I was taken aback a little bit, when I first saw the photos. Who knows lightning can be really beautiful combined with perfect clouds formation and small glimpse of city lights?

The combination makes a beautiful and a bit shivering view of nature’s most famous phenomenon. Maybe the fact that those photos were taken from the space that excite me or maybe the beauty of the shots, it’s really hard to tell. But one thing for sure is I am going to thank NASA for this project because I just remembered I have a science class next week. And I haven’t touched anything yet…. (this is the right time for lightning storm to hit my school.)

Image credits:

“Early morning lightning, inland of LA and San Diego,” by Karen Nyberg/NASA, ”West Coast of Africa at Night” by NASA, “Stunning Lyrids Over Earth at Night,” NASA, “Clouds, Lightning, Airlgow and Lights of Civilization in Africa” by NASA, “Lightning Sprite Seen from Space” by NASA, thunderstorm photo by ESA astronaut André Kuipers. 

Taken from PetaPixel

