Dion Lee Spring 2014

by gimmegoodstyle

LUX_6469.450x675

There is a basic constructions behind all collections. Some are pretty obvious and some aren’t, hidden behind all those layers of beautiful sheer and embellishments and effortless beauty (hate effortless beauty. Hate it). Dion Lee is definitely the first one. He shows construction of each clothes he made.

There is a unique beauty in strict hierarchy that he puts to his shows. From opening to the end of the show, I feel clothes coming down the runway with precise explanations and plans to awe us (I don’t know the real fact, but I have this certain feeling you know. Like sixth sense).

Strict, it is.

The sleek black fabric combined with curves lines and geometric prints made an excellent textures for a ready-to-wear collection. Dion also put classic black, more white, crop tops, and jackets in front line to defeat New Yorkers’ high aesthetic taste. I do think Dion Lee put a lot of efforts in his collection (probably because it’s his first New York Fashion Week show. Hmm, I guess it’s time to say ‘bye bye Aussie’?) I just love the final numbers, dresses that both combine structural beauty and the feminine flapping of a skirt (red carpet ready too!) But I loved to see more edginess, like in his last resort collection.

I swear, that resort collection is one of his best shows.

Come on Dion, your New York days are just getting started and less-edgy collection will definitely be a deadweight for you!

P.S: Truth to be told, I am totally team Dion Lee. Move fashion crowds, Mr. Dion Lee will blow your high-fashion-brains away….

Images taken from Style.com

