Geek of the Day: Martin Hill

by gimmegoodstyle

ice circle martin hill mymodernmet ice circle martin hill mymodernmet.com Synergy StoneCircle SunriseCircle 60994_Kanuka Sphere 60994_Rising Circle 60994_Autumn Leaf

Circle. Seems so usual, nothing special about a circle.

Unless you are still in school and your teachers still like to ask you how many circles you can put inside a triangle. My answer: I don’t give a single shit, sir. No wonder I am not the most favorite student (or the smartest).

My point of view about circles has been forever changed by Martin Hill’s works (in collaboration with Philipa Jones). Martin has captured (and made) circles made of natural elements, like stones, or block of ice, or sticks made of woods (let’s call them Circles of Nature). It’s very strange to see art installment in nature. You know, I usually see something artsy yet strange like that inside a museum, where everything has been placed carefully and arranged to accommodate the best viewing experiences. But Martin’s art looks (or feels) (I hate mixed feelings like this!) bare, pure, fragile, and moving.

There’s a peaceful melody that comes from my heart whenever I see his art.

I can’t really explain with words. Maybe it’s because I know how hard it is to make a circle like that (yes, that’s handmade not nature-made). Or maybe because the view is just as breathtaking as the circles. Or maybe it’s my allergic (this one’s a lie. I am not allergic to anything at all. Well, except antibiotics) (and expensive price tags!)

I am starting to feel emotional (why why WHYYYY????) Seriously, time to stop. One thing for sure: I love Martin Hill’s Circle of Nature work. The peaceful, calm, Zen, natural, pure feelings it gives… that’s just too much to handle yet you need to feel it sometimes. Am I right? 

Images taken from My Modern Met. Edited by Gimme Good Style.

