Sorcha O’Raghallaigh

by gimmegoodstyle

sorchasscover

Christmas! As a smart fashion blogger, I would like to make you think before giving you guys ideas. It’s how I roll you know. Oh okay, I want you to think because I need to fill this big empty void between ‘post’ and ‘publish’ button.

Now, I am going to ask you a very general question. What makes Christmas? No, not Santa Claus. Not reindeer. Not mistletoes. They’re just decorations. The tradition starts right after Jesus Christ was born into the world (I’ll leave the rest of the story to Mr. Dan Brown) (love his new Inferno book, by the way). Christ was born, but who gave birth to the Lord of All Things? It’s the Virgin Mary. 

I strongly believe that Virgin Mary is the most underrated woman in fashion world. Think about it, Mrs. Obama gets a lot of attention even though she just the First Lady of United States (no offense). Come on guys, Virgin Mary is the First Lady of Heaven. People should give her more attentions in modern pop culture. Maybe I am talking a bit too Christianity here. Anyway, what I am trying to do is giving praise to Sorcha O’Raghallaigh. A very talented designer that takes inspirations from religious aspects, which is very rare because religion is a very sensitive inspiration, second only to Indian culture. 

Her new collection is unsurprisingly inspired by Virgin Mary, resulting in whimsical dresses with long complicated veils, glittery crowns (so big that it looks like an actual crown) and halo-like head accessories. I don’t think normal people would like to wear these kind of dresses to casual Christmas Party (shame on you!) But I believe fashion lovers would die for one of these pieces of art (Trivia: I always mention clothes/dresses that I respect or adore as ‘pieces of art’. They deserve those titles) (And I don’t know why I am telling you this). 

If you are still questioning what kind of occasions except Christmas to wear these ‘pieces of art’, I am going to give you one more clue: It has something to do with Jack O’Lantern, pumpkin cookies, candies, and Horror Movie Marathon (my favorite: The Shining followed by Friday the 13th or Supernatural Season 1). 

Images taken from Style Bubble.

