Gimme Good Style

Fashion and Lifestyle Blog

Geek of the Day: Sunny Gu

SG-15

There is a big gap between fashion sketch and fashion illustration. Sketches are for designers’ map, it’s like the blue print. There is nothing too artsy about them, just pure thoughts about how to make a great clothe or gown or whatever it will be. But fashion illustration is the ‘after’ painting, it’s the art side of the clothes and only some seriously talented people can draw a fashion illustration. I am simply not one of them. Don’t worry guys, we are not here to talk about my miserable art talent, not today. We are here to talk about seriously cool fashion illustrator called…Sunny Gu. She draws soo well, I can’t even stand opening her website. Ugh, nope! Too good for me too see!! But you guys should see it.

Anyway, one thing I like about Sunny’s illustration is how she manages to connect high fashion and happiness. As you know, high fashion and happiness have…well, not a really good relationship. There is even a phrase for their relationship: beauty is pain. Or something like that. Sunny’s illustrations look done with that phrase though (time to move on ladies!), everything looks colorful and flowery and pretty much…happy. Okay, run out of words and breaths because of my jealousy. Ugh, I hate talented artists soo damn much, I wish I can become one of them!

Ah, don’t forget to buy Sunny’s illustrations on Etsy for US$30 (and above) (but not really above, pretty much reasonable). Don’t frown, I know you want them. Just close your eyes and I am sure these stuffs will be a great investment when Sunny becomes famous (after that, you can sell those illustrations or donate them to museums or give them to your children whatsoever). And I am very sure she will!

Taken from HonestlyWTF and Sunny Gu

sunny gu sunnygu.com

Chocolate And Peanut Butter Pudding

chocolate and peanut butter pudding sipsandspoonfuls.com

Wow, it’s been a long time since the last time we talked about food. I think I got caught up in the whole summer-vacation-resort-shows-menswear fashion thing. Time to get back to my real passion: pudding. Well, actually my real passions are ice creams, pizzas and burgers (Carl’s Jr rocks my world dude!!!), but puddings are fine enough. Talking about puddings….well, I thought I had tasted all kind of puddings from regular chocolate to mellon to pineapple to hawaiian fruits (tasted it somewhere when I was in Taiwan). But actually I haven’t.

Thanks (or not) to the fact that I am not American, I am not familiar with peanut butter. I mean, I have tried it once when I was really curious and I don’t really like it (WHAT?!!?). Yeah, I am not a big fan of peanut butter, it tastes very dry in my mouth and makes me crave for water and water and water. Well, pretty much the same way you (Americans) feel about Indonesian’s chili. But don’t judge me fellas, maybe peanut butter still holds a chance when it comes as…pudding. Yeah, in fact there is something called chocolate and peanut butter pudding and I am really curious to taste it. I can try to make it, even though I am not sure where can I  buy a decent, appropriate and not-really-dry peanut butter….

Taken from Sips and Spoonfuls

Mary Katrantzou Resort 2014

MARY_KATRANZOU_027_1366.450x675

I love Mary Katrantzou! Her designs are mostly colorful and exciting and…uh, you get the point. Anyway, she did try to play with darker print last season (maybe because it’s fall) and even though I was trying to be supportive as one of her fans, I was also sucking up my disappointment. I like her colorful prints better. Fortunately, those dark prints didn’t last for very long, this resort she is back with more colorful and fantasy-like collection.

I think she was inspired by holidays and springs (who doesn’t get inspired by holidays and springs?!) (duh!) because I see a lot of Chinese mountains (they look like chinese’s!) (please don’t make me explain what chinese-mountains are) (fine, if you see those um…scattered giant rocks on the river and there are a lot of traditional fishing boats with asian girls singing alone about river and nature beauty and some hunks that she misses, well, there are 99 percents possibility that you are in Asia and staring into chinese mountains) and flower gardens between all those explosive patterns.

Mary plays with safe-shapes this resort (no ballon-y dresses), there is nothing too bizarre or unpractical, just simple one-piece and some tops and a few pants and lots of dresses. I love her dresses. It’s like wearing a package of edginess. Just put yourself in one of her printed dresses with black heels (or white) (because white heels are still cool) and there you are! All different and fun and…spring-ready. Easy breezy Mary-girl! Oh, she can use the phrase for her newest ad-campaign!

Okay, maybe I am such a fantasy-geek whatsoever (hip hip hooray for Harry Potter!!!), but I think Mary’s collection is telling a story here. The prints are changing from one clothes to another, feels like she is building a fantasy world and she ends it with her last piece: off-the-shoulder dress with beautiful cherry blossom-river print. Beautiful.

Well, every collection has it’s weak point and Mary’s is no different. Those dresses are fine and those prints look much better than last season, but…the pants. Okay, this is just my opinion. They’re WEIRD! Somehow, those pants look very stiff (stiff pants are NOT good), the colors and patterns aren’t helping and I feel like staring right into Empire State Building’s windows…pants version (weird metaphor, but it’s true!). Maybe it could be much better, if she used bold colors with less print. I am thinking white pants with a little bit purple or black accents on the bottom, like the stylish version of mud dirt on your pants when you are walking in dirty-after-rain pavement.

In short;  full print dress? Yes, please. Full print pants? Uh…maybe not this time…or later…or never.

Taken from Style